06.06.2017  NovSU became a member of the Russia’s Regional Flagship Universities group

The Russian Ministry of Education and Sciences published a list of 22 universities - winners of the second competition among regional flagship universities. The contest received 86 applications from 57 regions.

Backbone Universities logo

The current universities-the winners are divided into two categories according to the level of funding. Eight universities of the first group will receive co-financing development programs at the Federal and regional levels: Vladimir State University named after the Stoletovs, Murmansk Arctic State University, Nizhny Novgorod State Technical University named after Alekseev, Novosibirsk State Technical University, Siberian Medical University of the Ministry of Health, Tula State University, Cherepovets State University and Demidov Yaroslavl State University.

The second category included the 14 universities that receive auditing and expert support of the Federal center, and only subsidies from regional budgets: Altay State University, Belgorod State Technological University named after Shukhov, Kalmyk State University named after Gorodovikov, Kemerovo State University, Magnitogorsk State Technical University named after Nosov, Mari State University, Yaroslav-the-Wise Novgorod State University, Petrozavodsk State University, Pskov State University, Saratov State Technical University named after Gagarin, Sochi State University, Syktyvkar State University named after Pitirim Sorokin, Togliatti State University and Ulyanovsk State University.

The ministry’s program on formation of regional flagship universities is aimed at having strong universities in the Russian regions, which by using joined scientific bases, human and financial resources would be able to become a real base for the region: transform professional training, attract academically strong students, organize scientific laboratories, cooperate with major sectoral enterprises in the region and provide the region with necessary qualified specialists.